Journal of Tort Law uses cookies, tags, and tracking settings to store information that help give you the very best browsing experience.
To understand more about cookies, tags, and tracking, see our Privacy Statement
I accept all cookies for the De Gruyter Online site

Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation

Journal of Tort Law

Editorial Board Member: Coleman, Jules / Geistfeld, Mark A / Goldberg, John / Perry, Ronen / Sharkey, Catherine M. / Witt, John / Zipursky, Benjamin

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) 2014: 0.524
Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) 2014: 0.944
Impact per Publication (IPP) 2014: 0.435

Aims and Scope

The Journal of Tort Law aims to be the premier publisher of original articles about tort law. JTL is committed to methodological pluralism, and welcomes, among other approaches, comparative, doctrinal, economic, empirical, historical, philosophical, and policy-oriented analyses of issues in or related to tort law.

Type of Publication:

The only peer-reviewed academic journal in the U.S. devoted to tort law, the Journal of Tort Law publishes cutting-edge scholarship in tort theory and jurisprudence from a range of interdisciplinary perspectives: comparative, doctrinal, economic, empirical, historical, philosophical, and policy-oriented. Spearheaded by editor-in-chief Jules Coleman (Yale) and some of the world's most prominent tort scholars from the Harvard, Fordham, NYU, Yale, and University of Haifa law faculties, the journal is the premier source for original articles about tort law and jurisprudence.

Publication History

Two issues/year
Content available since 2006 (Volume 1, Issue 1)
ISSN: 1932-9148

Journal of Tort Law is covered by the following services:

  • Baidu Scholar
  • Celdes
  • CNKI Scholar (China National Knowledge Infrastructure)
  • EBSCO (relevant databases)
  • EBSCO Discovery Service
  • Elsevier - SCOPUS
  • Gale/Cengage
  • Genamics JournalSeek
  • Google Scholar
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  • J-Gate
  • JournalTOCs
  • Naviga (Softweco)
  • Primo Central (ExLibris)
  • ProQuest (relevant databases)
  • ReadCube
  • ResearchGate
  • SCImago (SJR)
  • Summon (Serials Solutions/ProQuest)
  • TDOne (TDNet)
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory/ulrichsweb
  • WestLaw
  • WorldCat (OCLC)

Senior Editors

Jules Coleman, Yale University
Mark Geistfeld, New York University
John Goldberg, Harvard University
Ronen Perry, Haifa University
Catherine Sharkey, New York University
John Witt, Yale University
Benjamin Zipursky, Fordham University

Advisory Board

Kenneth Abraham, University of Virginia
Jennifer Arlen, New York University
Anita Bernstein, Brooklyn Law School
Guido Calabresi, Yale University (Honorary Member)
Theodore Eisenberg, Cornell University
Izhak Englard, Hebrew University
Richard Epstein, University of Chicago
George Fletcher, Columbia University
James Gordley, University of California, Berkeley
Mark Grady, University of California, Los Angeles
Gregory Keating, University of Southern California
Helmut Koziol, Austrian Academy of Sciences
Saul Levmore, University of Chicago
Richard Nagareda, Vanderbilt University
David G. Owen, University of South Carolina
Stephen R. Perry, University of Pennsylvania
Ariel Porat, University of Tel Aviv
Robert L. Rabin, Stanford University
Arthur Ripstein, University of Toronto
Christopher Schroeder, Duke University
Anthony Sebok, Cardozo Law School
Stephen Shavell, Harvard University
Jane Stapleton, University of Texas
Stephen Sugarman, University of California, Berkeley
W. Kip Viscusi, Vanderbilt University
Ernest Weinrib, University of Toronto
Richard W. Wright, Illinois Institute of Technology

Please log in or register to comment.