Open Access

“Open Access is our future and our passion. Our enthusiasm for Open Access goes back more than 15 years. The scholarly community, including authors, libraries, research institutions, from our publishing expertise, our openness, and our partnership approach.”
(Carsten Buhr, Geschäftsführer)

Als einer der ersten Verlage hat sich De Gruyter dem Open-Access-Gedanken verschrieben: Bereits 2010 haben wir unser erstes Open-Access-Buch veröffentlicht, drei Jahre später folgte die erste Open-Access-Zeitschrift. Heute umfasst unser Portfolio mehr als 2.000 Open-Access-Bücher und etwa 90 goldene Open-Access-Zeitschriften, die wir eigenverantwortlich oder in Zusammenarbeit mit Fachgesellschaften herausgeben.

Erhöhte Sichtbarkeit der Inhalte, eine rasche Veröffentlichung der Forschungsergebnisse, renommierte Herausgebergremien und vor allem eine enge Betreuung während des gesamten Publikationsprozesses führen dazu, dass sich Autoren und Autorinnen dafür entscheiden, bei De Gruyter im Open Access zu publizieren.

Open-Access-Transformation


Wir sind bestrebt, die Open-Access-Publikationslandschaft gemeinsam mit der Wissenschaft, den Bibliotheken und der Forschungsförderung weiter zu gestalten, um Open-Access-Publizieren perspektivisch für alle unsere Autoren und Autorinnen zu ermöglichen.

Diese Vision im Blick haben wir in den letzten Jahren Vereinbarungen mit Bibliotheken und Konsortien weltweit getroffen, die das Open-Access-Publizieren in unserem Zeitschriftenportfolio wesentlich erleichtern.

Da der Zugang zu Fördermitteln gerade in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften nach wie vor gering ist, arbeiten wir daran, neue Transformations- und Finanzierungsmodelle zu entwickeln, um Open Access in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften breiter zu verankern. Hierzu gehören unser Subscribe-to-Open-Projekt im Zeitschriftenbereich sowie unsere Open-Access-Transformationsprojekte für geisteswissenschaftliche Neuerscheinungen.

Open-Access-Lizenzen


Alle unsere Open-Access-Publikationen werden unter einer Creative-Commons-Lizenz veröffentlicht. Mit der Wahl der Creative-Commons-Lizenz können Autorinnen und Autoren bewusst bestimmen, in welchem Grad sie ihr Werk der Allgemeinheit freigeben möchten. Sie räumen uns als Verlag im Zuge der Open-Access-Stellung ein einfaches Nutzungsrecht an ihrer Publikation ein.

Open-Access-Förderanforderungen


Zahlreiche Organisationen der Forschungsförderung weltweit haben inzwischen Open-Access-Empfehlungen bzw. Förderauflagen erlassen.

Als Mitglied von OASPA (Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association) folgt De Gruyter dem Verhaltungskodex der Organisation und trägt in diesem Rahmen aktiv dazu bei, die Bedingungen des Open-Access-Publizieren kontinuierlich zu verbessern.

De Gruyter ist außerdem bei OAPEN als einer der Buchverlage gelistet, die den Open-Access-Anforderungen des österreichischen Wissenschaftsfonds FWF, des Wellcome Trusts und des Europäischen Forschungsrats (European Research Council – ERC) vollumfänglich erfüllen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns


Sie möchten mehr über Open Access bei De Gruyter erfahren? Sprechen Sie uns gerne an.

Open Access

“Open Access is our future and our passion. Our enthusiasm for Open Access goes back more than 15 years. The scholarly community, including authors, libraries, research institutions, from our publishing expertise, our openness, and our partnership approach.”
(Carsten Buhr, Managing Director)


De Gruyter was an early champion of open access and an advocate of opening content to all researchers. We published our first open access book in 2010 and launched our first fully gold open access journal in 2013. Today De Gruyter’s open access portfolio comprises more than 2,000 open access books and around 90 fully open access journals – published in-house or on behalf of learned societies.

Increased citations, quick turn-around times, strong editorial boards and above all close editorial guidance attract authors on different career stages to publish in open access with De Gruyter.

Open Access transformation


The transition of scholarly research to open access is not a uniform one and we are committed to navigating this path together with researchers, librarians and research organizations. De Gruyter actively seeks partnerships with institutions across the globe as part of our mission to make open access publishing more accessible to authors. Visit here for more information on our agreements with institutions.

We also innovate, especially in the humanities, where different models are needed to transition to open access. As access to funding is still very limited, we have been developing models that distribute publication fees across stakeholders, such as our Subscribe to Open pilot for journals and our open access transformation packages for books.

Open Access licences


All our open access publications are published under a Creative Commons license. The Creative Commons licenses define to what extent the work can be re-used by the scholarly community and the general public. To us as a publisher, non-exclusive exploitation rights are granted.

Compliance


There are many binding and non-binding policies, called mandates, that govern open access material and that are adopted worldwide. De Gruyter assumes responsibility for compliance with common mandates.

As a member of OASPA, De Gruyter adheres to its Code of Conduct and is engaged with the association on developing best practice in open access publishing. De Gruyter is also listed by OAPEN as a book publisher that is fully compliant with the open access requirements of the European Research Council, Wellcome, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), and the Austrian Science Fund (FWF).

Contact us


If you would like to learn more about open access publishing at De Gruyter, get in touch with us.