Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation

The Publishing House

The independent academic publisher De Gruyter can look back at a company history of 270 years.

Today, the De Gruyter group publishes over 1,300 new titles each year in the humanities, social sciences, STM and law, more than 700 subscription based or Open Access journals, and a variety of digital products.

The company is headquartered in Berlin, with offices in Basel, Beijing, Boston and Munich. 

Under its umbrella brand De Gruyter, the company runs the imprints of De Gruyter Akademie Forschung, Birkhäuser, De Gruyter Mouton, De Gruyter Oldenbourg, and De Gruyter Saur.

> Read more about De Gruyter in our company presentation
> Learn more about the De Gruyter imprints in the
Fact Sheet


As a global scientific publishing house De Gruyter is committed to the widest distribution of its journals to non-profit institutions in developing countries.

Through agreements with worldwide organizations we ensure that academic knowledge is accessible at greatly reduced or no cost.

De Gruyter is delighted to be part of such initiatives that aim to increase dissemination opportunities for research produced in emerging nations and to bring this scholarly material to the global academic community.



Through an agreement between the International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP) and De Gruyter, eligible countries in Africa and Asia may purchase nationwide online access for its network of libraries and researchers.


In cooperation with the World Health Organisation, De Gruyter is a participant in HINARI, which provides free or low cost online access to journals in biomedical and related social sciences across Africa, Latin America, Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Middle East.