Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation

Institutions and foundations with Open Access funding

Back to overview on Funding

Many institutions and foundations have their own open access funds that can be used by authors to cover publication fees.

For an overview of the available funding per country, please see the list below.

Australia | Austria | Belgium | Canada | Europe | Germany | Hungary | Iceland | International | Ireland | The Netherlands | Norway | RPA | Spain | Sweden | Switzerland | UK | USA


Name of instution

  Australian Research Council
  Australian Catholic University
  National Health and Medical Research Council
  Australian Medical Student’s Association
  Australian National University
  Charles Sturt University
  Council of Australian University Librarians
  Deakin University
  Edith Cowan University
  Macquarie University
  Southern Cross University
  Queensland University of Technology

University of Queensland
  University of South Australia
  University of Technology Sydney
  Victoria University
  University of Wollongong
  University of Newcastle

  University of Salzburg
  University of Vienna
  Austrian Science Fund

  Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique

  Simon Fraser University
  University of Ottawa
  University of Manitoba
  University of Saskatchewan
  Carleton University
  Concordia University
  York University
  Brock University
  Memorial University
  Ryerson University
  Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement
  Canadian Cancer Society
  Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada
  Memorial University Libraries
  Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research

   FP7 pilot
  Horizon 2020

  Technical University Munich (TUM)
  University of Heidelberg
  University of Goettingen
  Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  Freie Universität Berlin
  University of Freiburg
  University of Muenster (WWU)
  University of Hamburg
  Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz
  Dresden University of Technology
  University of Leipzig
  University of Stuttgart
  Ruhr-University Bochum
  University of Giessen
  University of Konstanz
  University of Regensburg
  University of Ulm
  University of Bayreuth
  University of Bielefeld
  University of Bremen
  University of Duisburg-Essen
  University of Hannover
  University of Bamberg
  Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH)
  Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  German Research Foundation
  Fraunhofer Society
  Helmholz Association

  Hungarian Scientific Research Fund (OTKA)

  The Icelandic Centre for Research

  World Health Organization

  Science Foundation Ireland (SFI)

The Netherlands
  Delft University of Technology
  Incentive Fund Open Access
  The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
  Erasmus University Rotterdam
  Radboud University
  University of Groningen
  Tilburg University
  Eindhoven University of Technology
  Maastricht University
  University of Twente
  Universiteit Utrecht
  University of Amsterdam
  VU University Amsterdam
  Wageningen University

  University of Oslo
  Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  University of Bergen
  University of Tromso
  Telemark University College

  Stellenbosch University

  University of Barcelona

  Lund University
  Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation
  Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research
  The Swedish Foundation for Humanities and Social Sciences (Riksbankens Jubileumsfond)
  Swedish Research Council
  Östersjöstiftelsen - The Foundation for Baltic and East European Studies (Sweden)

  University of Zurich
  ETH Zurich (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich)
  Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF)

  Action on Hearing Loss
  Arthritis Research UK
  Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
  Bournemouth University
  British Heart Foundation
  Brunel University
  Cancer Research UK
  Department of Health (NHS/NIHR)
  Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
  Imperial College London
  Medical Research Council (MRC)
  Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)
  Parkinson's UK
  Research Councils UK (RCUK)
  Stroke Association
  The Dunhill Medical Trust
  University College London
  University Nottingham
  University of Worcester
  Wellcome Trust

  Harvard University
  University of California, Berkeley
  Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  Columbia University
  University of California, Davies
  University of California Berkeley
  University of California Irvine
  University of California San Francisco
  University of California Santa Barbara
  Cornell University
  University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
  Duke University
  University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  University of Colorado at Boulder
  University of Rhode Island
  Emory University
  The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  The University of Utah
  Dartmouth College
  Brandeis University
  Colorado State University
  Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
  Northern Illinois University
  University of Illinois at Chicago
  University of Iowa
  University of Kansas
  University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  University of Oklahoma
  Wake Forest University
  University of Maryland, College Park
  University of Pittsburgh
  The University of Arizona
  University of Utah
  The University of Iowa
  University of Virginia
  Florida State University
  Iowa State University
  Oregon Health and Science University
  Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  Kansas State University
  Boston College