Skip to content
Accessible Published by De Gruyter July 2, 2015

Awardees of the IUPAC 2015 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering Announced

From the journal Chemistry International

The awardees of the IUPAC 2015 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering are as follows:

· Professor Lucia Banci, University of Florence, Florence, Italy

· Professor Margaret Brimble, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

· Professor Ewa Bulska, Uniwersytet Warszawski, Warsaw, Poland

· Professor Karen Gleason, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA

· Professor Janet Hering, Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science & Technology, Dübendorf, Switzerland

· Professor Nadia G. Kandile, Ain Shams University, Heliopolis, Cairo, Egypt

· Professor Maki Kawai, RIKEN & The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

· Professor Hyunjoo Lee, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon. South Korea

· Professor Carmen Najera, University of Alicante, Alicante, Spain

· Professor Helga Rübsamen-Schaeff, AiCuris GmbH & Co. KG, Wuppertal, Germany

· Professor Roberta Sessoli, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy

· Professor Livia Simon Sarkadi, Corvinus University of Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

The awards program, initiated as part of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry celebrations, was created to acknowledge and promote the work of female chemists and chemical engineers worldwide. These 12 Awardees have been selected based on excellence in basic or applied research, distinguished accomplishments in teaching or education, or because they have demonstrated leadership and managerial excellence in the chemical sciences. The Award Committee has been particularly interested in nominees with a history of leadership and/or community service during their careers.

Angela Wilson, Vice President of the Physical and Biophysical Chemistry Division of IUPAC and co-chair of a recently approved project on “Accelerating Participation and Leadership of Women in Chemistry”, noted how remarkable the international scope and service of the recipients is. “Women from twenty-five countries across six continents have been recognized since the award’s inception. This international recognition highlights that women are making strong contributions to the chemical sciences globally. However, there is still much work to be done to achieve parity for women in chemistry,” said Carolyn Ribes, co-chair of the above-mentioned project. That IUPAC project has received support from ICSU, and will establish the framework to examine the status of women in chemistry. (see more on page 26)

An award ceremony will take place during the IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in Busan, Korea, on Tuesday, 11 August 2015, coinciding with the symposium: Women in Chemistry: Gaining Momentum and followed by a reception in honor of the recipients.

Online erschienen: 2015-7-2
Erschienen im Druck: 2015-7-1

©2015 by Walter de Gruyter Berlin/Boston