Skip to content
Accessible Published by De Gruyter July 2, 2015

IUPAC Announces the Winners of the 2015 IUPAC-SOLVAY International Award for Young Chemists

From the journal Chemistry International

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry and Solvay announce the winners of the 2015 IUPAC-SOLVAY International Award for Young Chemists, presented for the best Ph.D. theses in the chemical sciences as described in 1000-word essays.

The five Winners are:

· Jonathan Barnes, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

· Ganna Gryn'ova, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

· Peter Korevaar, Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

· Frederic Perras, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada

· Zhibin Yang, Fudan University, Shanghai, China

The Winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and travel expenses to the 45th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress, 9-14 August 2015, in Busan, Korea. Each winner will also be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award-winning work and to submit a short critical review on aspects of his/her research topic to be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry. The awards will be presented to the winners of the 2014 and 2015 prizes during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress. The essays describing the 2015 Winners’ theses may be found on the IUPAC web site:

Dr. Barnes: “Expanding the Role of Viologens in Supramolecular Chemistry through Radical-Based Integrated Materials and as Hosts for Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons”

Dr. Gryn'ova: “Understanding and Manipulating The Reactivity of Nitroxides and Other Stable Free Radicals”

Dr. Korevaar: “Pathway complexity in π-conjugated materials”

Dr. Perras: “Structural Insights from the NMR Spectroscopv of Quadrupolar Nuclei: Exploiting Electric Field Gradient and Spin-Spin Coupling Tensors”

Dr. Yang: “High performance fiber-shaped solar cells”

There were 48 applications from 16 countries. The Prize Selection Committee comprised members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry and was chaired by Professor Kazuyuki Tatsumi, IUPAC Past President. In making their decisions, the jury was keen to recognize a global representation of the awards in line with the pool of applications.

In view of the many high-quality applications, the Committee also decided to give four Honorable Mention Awards to:

Xuli Chen, Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Anindita Das, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Polymer Science Unit, Jadavpur, Kolkata, India

Wei Gao, University of California, San Diego, USA

Guosong Hong, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA

The recipients of Honorable Mention Awards will receive a copy of the Principles of Chemical NomenclatureA guide to IUPAC Recommendations. The book is published by Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) and offered with the compliments of RSC Publishing.

The call for applications to the next 2016 IUPAC-SOLVAY International Award for Young Chemists is on-going and with a submission deadline of 1 February 2016. Eligible candidates must have received a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in any of the countries that are members or associate members of IUPAC during the year 2015.

Online erschienen: 2015-7-2
Erschienen im Druck: 2015-7-1

©2015 by Walter de Gruyter Berlin/Boston