IUPAC Announces Winners of the 2010 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

De Gruyter | Published online: July 1, 2010

IUPAC Announces Winners of the 2010 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

The following winners of the 2010 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists were announced in May:

  • Guangbin Dong, Stanford University, Palo Alto, California, USA

  • Viktoria Gessner, Technical University Dortmund, Dortmund, Germany

  • Rafal Klajn, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

  • Jason Spruell, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

  • Guihua Yu, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

The prizes are awarded for the best Ph.D. theses in the chemical sciences as described in 1000-word essays. The winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and travel expenses to the 43rd IUPAC Congress, 30 July–7 August 2011, in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Each prizewinner will also be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award winning work and to submit a short critical review on aspects of his/her research topic to be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry. The awards will be presented to the winners of the 2010 and 2011 prizes during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress.

The essays describing the 2010 winners’ theses can be found on the IUPAC web site and cover a wide range of subject matter:

  • Guangbin Dong: Synthetic Efficiency: Using Atom-Economical and Chemoselective Approaches towards Total Syntheses of Agelas Alkaloids, Terpestacin and Bryostatins

  • Viktoria Gessner: Lithiumorganic Compounds: From the Structure-Reactivity Relationship to Versatile Synthetic Building Blocks and Their Application

  • Rafal Klajn: Self-Assembly of Nanostructured Materials

  • Jason Spruell: Application of Copper-Catalyzed Reactions for the Efficient Synthesis of Donor-Acceptor Mechanically Interlocked Molecules as well as for Nanoscale Surface Patterning

  • Guihua Yu: Assembly and Integration of Semiconductor Nanowires for Functional Nanosystems: from Nanoelectronics to Nanobiotechnology

There were 29 applications from 15 different countries. The Prize Selection Committee comprised members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry.

Applications for the 2011 prizes are now being solicited. For more information, see <www.iupac.org/web/nt/2010-05-19_young_chemist>.



Page last modified 30 June 2010.

Copyright © 2003-2010 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Questions regarding the website, please contact edit.ci@iupac.org

Published Online: 2010-07-01
Published in Print: 2010-07

© 2014 by Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co.