Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Show Summary Details
More options …

Biological Chemistry

Editor-in-Chief: Brüne, Bernhard

Editorial Board: Buchner, Johannes / Lei, Ming / Ludwig, Stephan / Thomas, Douglas D. / Turk, Boris / Wittinghofer, Alfred

IMPACT FACTOR 2018: 3.014
5-year IMPACT FACTOR: 3.162

CiteScore 2018: 3.09

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) 2018: 1.482
Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) 2018: 0.820

Print + Online
See all formats and pricing
More options …
Volume 383, Issue 7-8


Inhibition of Mammalian Legumain by Michael Acceptors and AzaAsn-Halomethylketones

A. J. Niestroj / K. Feußner / U. Heiser / P. M. Dando / A. Barrett / B. Gerhartz / H.-U. Demuth
Published Online: 2005-06-01 | DOI: https://doi.org/10.1515/BC.2002.133


Legumain is a lysosomal cysteine peptidase specific for an asparagine residue in the P1-position. It has been classified as a member of clan CD peptidases due to predicted structural similarities to caspases and gingipains. So far, inhibition studies on legumain are limited by the use of endogenous inhibitors such as cystatin C. A series of Michael acceptor inhibitors based on the backbone CbzLAlaLAlaLAsn (Cbz= benzyloxycarbonyl) has been prepared and resulted in an irreversible inhibition of porcine legumain. Variation of the molecular size within the war head revealed the best inhibition for the compound containing the allyl ester (kobs/I=766 M 1s 1). To overcome cyclisation between the amide moiety of the Asn residue and the war head, several asparagine analogues have been synthesised. Integrated in halomethylketone inhibitors, azaasparagine is accepted by legumain in the P1-position. The most potent inhibitor of this series, CbzLAlaLAlaAzaAsnchloromethylketone, displays a kobs/I value of 139 000 M 1s 1. Other cysteine peptidases, such as papain and cathepsin B, are not inhibited by this compound at concentrations up to 100 M. The synthetic inhibitors described here represent useful tools for the investigation of the structural and physiological properties of this unique asparaginespecific peptidase.

About the article

Published Online: 2005-06-01

Published in Print: 2002-08-27

Citation Information: Biological Chemistry, Volume 383, Issue 7-8, Pages 1205–1214, ISSN (Print) 1431-6730, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1515/BC.2002.133.

Export Citation

Citing Articles

Here you can find all Crossref-listed publications in which this article is cited. If you would like to receive automatic email messages as soon as this article is cited in other publications, simply activate the “Citation Alert” on the top of this page.

Zhentao Zhang, Ye Tian, and Keqiang Ye
Translational Neurodegeneration, 2020, Volume 9, Number 1
Samuel D. Melton, Mason S. Smith, and David M. Chenoweth
The Journal of Organic Chemistry, 2019
Jiyoun Lee and Matthew Bogyo
ACS Chemical Biology, 2010, Volume 5, Number 2, Page 233
Zhentao Zhang, Obiamaka Obianyo, Elfriede Dall, Yuhong Du, Haian Fu, Xia Liu, Seong Su Kang, Mingke Song, Shan-Ping Yu, Chiara Cabrele, Mario Schubert, Xiaoguang Li, Jian-Zhi Wang, Hans Brandstetter, and Keqiang Ye
Nature Communications, 2017, Volume 8, Page 14740
Marcin Poreba, Rigmor Solberg, Wioletta Rut, Ngoc Nguyen Lunde, Paulina Kasperkiewicz, Scott J. Snipas, Marko Mihelic, Dusan Turk, Boris Turk, Guy S. Salvesen, and Marcin Drag
Cell Chemical Biology, 2016, Volume 23, Number 8, Page 1023
Zhentao Zhang, Manling Xie, and Keqiang Ye
Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Targets, 2016, Volume 20, Number 10, Page 1237
Poom Adisakwattana, Vithoon Viyanant, Wanpen Chaicumpa, Suksiri Vichasri-Grams, Annemarie Hofmann, Günter Korge, Prasert Sobhon, and Rudi Grams
Molecular and Biochemical Parasitology, 2007, Volume 156, Number 2, Page 102
Elfriede Dall and Hans Brandstetter
Biochimie, 2016, Volume 122, Page 126
Anders Øverbye, Frank Sætre, Linda Korseberg Hagen, Harald Thidemann Johansen, and Per O. Seglen
Autophagy, 2011, Volume 7, Number 9, Page 1011
Ze Liu, Min Xiong, Junbo Gong, Yan Zhang, Nan Bai, Yunping Luo, Luyuan Li, Yuquan Wei, Yanhua Liu, Xiaoyue Tan, and Rong Xiang
Nature Communications, 2014, Volume 5
Lixia Zhao, Tian Hua, Christopher Crowley, Heng Ru, Xiangmin Ni, Neil Shaw, Lianying Jiao, Wei Ding, Lu Qu, Li-Wei Hung, Wei Huang, Lei Liu, Keqiang Ye, Songying Ouyang, Genhong Cheng, and Zhi-Jie Liu
Cell Research, 2014, Volume 24, Number 3, Page 344
Debbie Liao, Ze Liu, Wolfgang Wrasidlo, Tingmei Chen, Yunping Luo, Rong Xiang, and Ralph A. Reisfeld
Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology and Medicine, 2011, Volume 7, Number 6, Page 665
Jiyoun Lee and Matthew Bogyo
Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters, 2012, Volume 22, Number 3, Page 1340
Elfriede Dall and Hans Brandstetter
Acta Crystallographica Section F Structural Biology and Crystallization Communications, 2012, Volume 68, Number 1, Page 24
K. Loak, D. N. Li, B. Manoury, J. Billson, F. Morton, E. Hewitt, and C. Watts
Biological Chemistry, 2003, Volume 384, Number 8
K. E. James, M. G. Götz, C. R. Caffrey, E. Hansell, W. Carter, A. J. Barrett, J. H. McKerrow, and J. C. Powers
Biological Chemistry, 2003, Volume 384, Number 12
Daisuke Kato, Kelly M Boatright, Alicia B Berger, Tamim Nazif, Galia Blum, Ciara Ryan, Kareem A H Chehade, Guy S Salvesen, and Matthew Bogyo
Nature Chemical Biology, 2005, Volume 1, Number 1, Page 33
Claude Grison and Tomasz Krzysztof Olszewski
Heteroatom Chemistry, 2008, Volume 19, Number 5, Page 461

Comments (0)

Please log in or register to comment.
Log in