2004 Winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists

IUPAC Wire|News and information on IUPAC, its fellows, and members organizations

See also www.iupac.org/news

2004 Winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists

On 1 June 2004, IUPAC announced the winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, which is an award for the best Ph.D. thesis in the chemical sciences as described in a 1000-word essay. The winners are as follows:

  • Parag Acharya, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Yu Huang, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
  • Zhipan Liu, Queen’s University of Belfast, UK
  • S. G. Srivatsan, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India

The winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and a free trip to the IUPAC Congress, 14-19 August 2005, Beijing, China. Each prize winner will be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award winning work and to submit a short critical review on aspects of their research topics to be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry. The awards to the four winners of the 2004 prize and those of 2005 will be made during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress. The essays describing the winners’ theses, which can be found on the IUPAC Web site, cover a wide range of subject matter:

  • Dr. Acharya, “Studies on the Non-covalent Interactions (Stereoelectronics, Stacking and Hydrogen Bonding) in the Self-assembly of DNA and RNA”
  • Dr. Huang, “Integrated Nanoscale Electronics and Optoelectronics: Exploring Nanoscale Science and Technology through Semiconductor Nanowires”
  • Dr. Liu, “Insight into Chemical Reactions: From Heterogeneous to Enzymatic reactions”
  • Dr. Srivatsan, “Modeling Prebiotic Catalysis with Adenylated Polymeric Templates: Kinetic Characterization of Assisted Phosphate Ester Cleavage and Oxygen Insertion Reactions”

There were 44 applicants from 23 countries. The Prize Selection Committee was comprised of members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry. The committee was chaired by Prof. Pieter S. Steyn, IUPAC past president.

In view of the quality of many applications, the Committee decided also to give four Honorable Mention Awards:

  • Orlando Acevedo, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
  • Neel Sarovar Bhavesh, Mumbai University, Mumbai, India
  • Anand Mahadeo Gole, University of Pune, India
  • Jennifer J. Sokol, University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA

The Honorable Mention Award winners will receive a cash prize of USD 100 and a copy of the Compendium of Chemical Terminology, the IUPAC “Gold Book.”

Applications for the 2005 Prize are now being solicited, as described at the Web address listed below.



Page last modified 18 July 2004.

Copyright © 2003-2004 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Questions regarding the website, please contact edit.ci@iupac.org

If the inline PDF is not rendering correctly, you can download the PDF file here.


Journal + Issues

Chemistry International is the newsmagazine of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). News about IUPAC, its chemists, its publications, its recommendations, its conferences and the work of its commissions and committees is published bimonthly in CI.