Test Cover Image of:  Journal of Tort Law

Journal of Tort Law

Editor In Chief: Christopher Robinette
Editorial Board: Mark A Geistfeld, John Goldberg, Ronen Perry, Catherine M. Sharkey, John Witt,  and Benjamin Zipursky
Founded by: Jules Coleman
Your benefits
  • Methodological pluralism
  • Interdisciplinary perspectives
  • Top international reviewers
  • Ahead of print publishing

The Journal of Tort Law aims to be the premier publisher of original articles about tort law. JTL is committed to methodological pluralism. The only peer-reviewed academic journal in the U.S. devoted to tort law, the Journal of Tort Law publishes cutting-edge scholarship in tort theory and jurisprudence from a range of interdisciplinary perspectives: comparative, doctrinal, economic, empirical, historical, philosophical, and policy-oriented. Founded by Jules Coleman (Yale) and some of the world's most prominent tort scholars from the Harvard, Fordham, NYU, Yale, and University of Haifa law faculties, the journal is the premier source for original articles about tort law and jurisprudence.

  • Comparative, doctrinal, economic, empirical, historical, philosophical, and policy-oriented analyses of issues in or related to tort law
  • European Tort Law
  • Comparative Law
  • Foreign and International Law

Article formats
Scholarly articles, comments and reviews

Online Submission of Manuscripts

Journal Metrics

Cite Score
SCImago Journal Rank
Source Normalized Impact per Paper


Two issues/year
Content available since 2006 (Volume 1, Issue 1)
ISSN: 1932-9148

Abstracting & Indexing

Journal of Tort Law is covered by the following services:

  • Baidu Scholar
  • Cabells Journalytics
  • CNKI Scholar (China National Knowledge Infrastructure)
  • CNPIEC - cnpLINKer
  • Dimensions
  • EBSCO (relevant databases)
  • EBSCO Discovery Service
  • Genamics JournalSeek
  • Google Scholar
  • J-Gate
  • JournalGuide
  • JournalTOCs
  • KESLI-NDSL (Korean National Discovery for Science Leaders)
  • Microsoft Academic
  • MyScienceWork
  • Naver Academic
  • Naviga (Softweco)
  • Norwegian Register for Scientific Journals, Series and Publishers
  • Primo Central (ExLibris)
  • ProQuest (relevant databases)
  • Publons
  • QOAM (Quality Open Access Market)
  • ReadCube
  • SCImago (SJR)
  • Semantic Scholar
  • Sherpa/RoMEO
  • Summon (ProQuest)
  • TDNet
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory/ulrichsweb
  • WanFang Data
  • WestLaw
  • WorldCat (OCLC)
  • Yewno Discover

Online Submission of Manuscripts

Your benefits of publishing with us
  • Wide abstracting and indexing
  • Broad topics
  • Top scholars and reviewers
  • Every article easily discoverable because of Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and comprehensive abstracting and indexing services
  • Convenient citation tracking via e-mail alert
  • Secure archiving by De Gruyter and the independent archiving service Portico
  • Professional sales and marketing activities
Submission process
  • Submit your paper via our Online Submission Tool according to JTL Style Guidelines
  • Peer review process
  • Decision on your paper
  • In case of any problems editorial assistance will be provided
Please note

  • All submissions to the JTL should be in English of the quality expected in a scholarly English-language journal
  • Once your article is accepted you have the option to publish it open access
  • Our repository policy allows you to distribute 30 PDF copies of your published article to colleagues (the PDF has to include the information that it is an author's copy). Please also feel free to distribute the link to the online abstract
  • If you have any general questions please visit our FAQ page for authors

We look forward to receiving your manuscript!

Christopher Robinette
, Widener University

Senior Editors
Mark Geistfeld, New York University
John Goldberg, Harvard University
Ronen Perry, Haifa University
Catherine Sharkey, New York University
John Witt, Yale University
Benjamin Zipursky, Fordham University

Founding Editor
Jules Coleman

Advisory Board
Kenneth Abraham, University of Virginia
Jennifer Arlen, New York University
Anita Bernstein, Brooklyn Law School
Guido Calabresi, Yale University (Honorary Member)
Izhak Englard, Hebrew University
Richard Epstein, University of Chicago
George Fletcher, Columbia University
James Gordley, University of California, Berkeley
Mark Grady, University of California, Los Angeles
Gregory Keating, University of Southern California
Helmut Koziol, Austrian Academy of Sciences
Saul Levmore, University of Chicago
David G. Owen, University of South Carolina
Stephen R. Perry, University of Pennsylvania
Ariel Porat, University of Tel Aviv
Robert L. Rabin, Stanford University
Arthur Ripstein, University of Toronto
Christopher Schroeder, Duke University
Anthony Sebok, Cardozo Law School
Stephen Shavell, Harvard University
Jane Stapleton, University of Cambridge
Stephen Sugarman, University of California, Berkeley
W. Kip Viscusi, Vanderbilt University
Ernest Weinrib, University of Toronto
Richard W. Wright, Illinois Institute of Technology

From  $74.00
Add to Cart



Researchers and practitioners interested in tort law